Amendment XXVIII

Attached to this amendment and a part hereof, is an entirely new Constitution of the United States of America.

At 12:01 am on the January first that occurs in the ninth year following the ratification date of this amendment, the current Constitution of the United States of America shall be replaced in its entirety by the new Constitution of the United States attached hereto. By example, if this amendment were ratified on any date during the year 2020, the effective date of the new Constitution would be 12:01 am on January 1, 2029.

All provisions of the new Constitution shall take full force and effect upon its effective date and time.

All parts of the federal government shall devote all necessary and appropriate attention during the eight full years immediately preceding the effective date of the new Constitution to enact and implement whatever measures may be required to provide a gradual transition that is as smooth and non-disruptive as possible. The same shall be so for state and local governments.

Immediately upon ratification of this Amendment, each state's two senators will no longer be elected at large by popular vote. Instead, they shall be replaced by senators appointed by majority vote of the state legislatures. Senators may be recalled at any time by a three fifths vote of their state legislature. Any senator not actively working in good faith to facilitate a smooth transition to the new Constitution shall be recalled and replaced.

Any of a state's representative(s) in the House not actively working to facilitate a smooth transition to the new Constitution shall be forced to resign at the end of his or her current term by a two thirds vote of that state's legislature. Representatives so forced to resign shall not be eligible to run for reelection to the House for a period of ten years after their resignation.

Failure to actively work in good faith to facilitate a smooth transition to the new Constitution shall be grounds for impeachment and removal from office of any member of the Executive Branch, including the president.